close logo

Grateful2Gurus 2018-19

Indic Academy organised its annual Grateful2Gurus award ceremony across the nation, commemorating the exemplary contributions of authors, activists, academicians and artists of Sanatan Dharma among us today.

This year, Indic Academy honoured 9 Gurus in ceremonies held across various Indian cities.

On 27th July 2018, Indica Madurai celebrated the selfless contributions of Prof Dr Rajagopal Vasudevan at the Thiagarajar College of Engineering. The event was organised on the auspicious occasion of Guru Purnima.

Prof Dr Rajagopal Vasudevan, popularly known as the “Plastic Man” of India, has developed a patent method to reuse plastic waste to construct roads. This ingenious technology provides for roads to be weather-resistant, have a greater life and withstand more load. Prof Vasudevan has selflessly handed over this patent technology to the Government of India at no cost. He currently serves as the Dean, Department of Chemistry at Thiagarajar College of Engineering, Madurai.

On the occasion of Guru Purnima, 27th July 2018, Indica Chennai organised the annual Grateful2Gurus award ceremony at the Parampara Hall in Alwarpet, Chennai. This year, two Gurus Dr Sadhana Rao and Prof Umadevi were felicitated at the ceremony followed by a heartwarming talk on “Centrality of the Guru in the Indic tradition” by Hema & DK Hari.

Dr Sadhana Rao, a practising doctor who has devoted herself to a lifetime of compassion, caring for abandoned, stolen and stray creatures that have suffered from humans uncaring and heartless acts. Today, her motherly hands embrace hundreds of cows, many buffalo, sheep, goats and dogs.

Prof Umadevi is an accomplished academician. She is a Professor of Transportation Engineering at Anna University. From obtaining patents to guiding generations of students from the undergraduate to doctoral level, Prof Umadevi has done it all as an academician.

On 29th July 2018, Indica Mysuru hosted the annual Grateful2Gurus awards ceremony to honour Guru R Saraswathi Jois. The event was held at Shri K Pattabhi Jois Ashtanga Yoga Shala, Gokulam in Mysuru.

Smt Saraswathi Jois is an internationally acclaimed practitioner and teacher of Yoga. She is the daughter of Shri K Pattabhi Jois (Guruji). She was the first female student to be granted admission to the Sanskrit College in Mysore where she studied both yoga and Sanskrit from Guruji. Saraswathi is a powerful female influence within the Jois family, bringing wisdom, experience and a feminine perspective to her teaching. Since Guruji’s passing in 2009 Saraswathi has dedicated herself to the continuation of his life’s work, sought after as an Ashtanga Yoga teacher throughout the world.

On 29th July 2018, Indica Agra organised the Grateful2Gurus award ceremony at Saraswat Hospital in Sikandra, Agra. This year, Prof Beena Sharma was felicitated at the Grateful2Gurus ceremony.

Prof Beena Sharma is an eminent academician and linguist who serves as the Registrar at Kendriya Hindi Sansthan, Agra.

On 29th July 2018, Indica Bengaluru honoured Guru Shri Shatavadhani R Ganesh at the annual Grateful2Gurus award ceremony.

Shri Shatavadhani R Ganesh is a practitioner of the art of avadhana, a polyglot and an author in Sanskrit and Kannada. He is an extempore poet in multiple languages and has performed more than 1000 avadhanas in Kannada, Sanskrit, Telugu and Prakrit. He once set a record by composing poetry for twenty-four hours continuously.

On 31st July 2018, Indica Coimbatore celebrated the Grateful2Gurus awards ceremony at the Sri Ramakrishna College of Arts & Science in Siddhapudur, Coimbatore.

This year, Indic Academy honoured Guru Dr K Subrahmanyam at the annual awards ceremony.

Dr K Subrahmanyam is an accomplished academician, writer, public speaker and administrator par excellence. Dr Subrahmanyam served as the Principal of the Vivekananda Gurukulam Institute at Thiruvedagam, Madurai and has authored over 20 books and 200 journal articles. He was bestowed with the “Vivekananda Award for Excellence” in propagating human values among the youth and was also awarded the title of “Parivrajakacharya” by the Vivekananda Vibhuti organisation in Hyderabad.

On 12th August 2018, Indica New Delhi felicitated Indian classical danseuse Sonal Mansingh at the annual Grateful2Gurus awards ceremony. The event was organised at the Centre for Indian Classical Dances in Hauz Khas, New Delhi.

Smt Sonal Mansingh is an internationally acclaimed Indian classical dancer, author and Member of Parliament. She has been the recipient of several prestigious awards including the Padma Bhushan in 1992, Sangeet Natak Akademi Award in 1987 and was also conferred with the Padma Vibhushan, India’s second-highest civilian award in the year 2003.

On August 29th 2018, Indica Coimbatore hosted the annual Grateful2Gurus awards ceremony and felicitated Guru Dr P Kanagasabapathi at the PSGR Krishnammal College for Women in Peelamedu, Coimbatore.

Dr P Kanagasabapathi is a professor, author and social activist known for his pioneering field studies in industrial and business clusters in different parts of the country. He served as the Director of the Tamil Nadu Institute of Urban Studies and is a member of the Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR), New Delhi and its nominee in the Governing Body of the Madras Institute of Development Studies, Chennai.

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed in this article belong to the author. Indic Today is neither responsible nor liable for the accuracy, completeness, suitability, or validity of any information in the article.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

  • More about: